Montana law requires all livestock owners to report by March 1 of each year the number of livestock owned as of February 1. Livestock includes all poultry and honey bees, swine three months of age or older, and all other livestock nine months or age or older (cattle, sheep, goats, horses, mules, asses, llamas, alpacas, domestic bison, ostriches, rheas, emus and alternative livestock). Even if you own just one horse and a few chickens, you still need to report. If you reported last year but no longer own livestock, you still need to submit a reporting form to inform us that your livestock count is zero.
The Board of Livestock annually sets the livestock per capita fee rates. The Department of Revenue collects livestock numbers and per capita fees on behalf of the Department of Livestock.
Some counties have a separate fee to fund predatory animal control (PAC) for cattle and sheep at the local government level. The cattle and sheep head counts collected by the Department of Revenue for per capita fees are also used by local county's Treasurer's Office for PAC fee collection on personal property and real property tax bills.
Log on through ePass Montana to report your livestock and pay your per capita fees. If you already have an ePass Montana account, use your existing login credentials. This service will automatically be added to the Your Services list.
To create an ePass Montana account:
Livestock Reporting - Before you begin reporting, you will need...
- Select Login with ePass Montana to create an ePass account with a unique username and password not associated with other online services. Click on Create an Account.
- Username must be at least 6 characters long.
- Password must be at least 8 characters long, use both letters and numbers, must be different than your username and is case sensitive.
- Password hint. This hint is meant to help remind you of your password. Mt.gov cannot retrieve your password for you. The only way to retrieve your password is to have your hint emailed to you at one of the e-mail addresses you provided when setting up your account. You will have an opportunity to reset your password by clicking on the password reset link from within the email.
Step 1 - Livestock Owner Information
- Your Customer ID and Token found on your livestock reporting notice.
- Your Social Security Number or Federal Employment Identification Number (if you are reporting in your business's name).
- Number of livestock owned as of February 1.
Step 2 - Livestock Reporting
- Provide livestock owner information requested.
Step 3 - Affidavit and Signature
- Livestock owners must report all poultry and honey bees, swine three months of age or older and all other livestock nine months of age or older (cattle, sheep, goats, horses, mules, asses, llamas, alpacas, domestic bison, ostriches, rheas, emus and alternative livestock). 15-24-921, MCA
- Report livestock by county (where the livestock are located as of February 1).
- If you own livestock in multiple counties, select Add a County.
Per Capita Fee Payment – Log on through ePass Montana
- Electronically sign and submit by March 1.
- New online users: Enter your Customer Id and Token found on your livestock reporting notice/per capita fee bill.
- Review your bill and enter payment information into the secure payment site.
- Payment options are eCheck ($2.00 fee charged per transaction) and credit card - Visa or Master Card (1.995% x Per Capita Fee + $0.25 + $1.00)
- This online service is provided by a third party working in partnership with the state of Montana. The price of items purchased through this service includes funds used to develop, maintain, and enhance the state's official web portal mt.gov
See how this service works - Try the demo
If you need assistance, please contact us at (406) 444-6900 or Montana Relay at 711 for hearing impaired.